The purpose of these tables is to maintain a schedule of scientific talks and discussions relevant to your program.

Go to current week.⬇

Week 1

Feb 13-17
Conference:
First Light and Faintest Dwarfs: Extreme Probes of the Cold Dark Matter Paradigm


Week 2
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 20


TBA
Holiday-No Scheduled Events
Presidents' Day
Tue, Feb 21
10:00am
Small Auditorium
All participants
Organizational Meeting
All welcome!
Tue, Feb 21
12:30pm
Small Seminar
Chris Pfrommer

informal talk
Wed, Feb 22
11:00am
Founders Room

informal coffee discussion

Thu, Feb 23
04:00pm
LCOGT
Anyone
Seminar talk
See email (***) below



















Week 3
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Feb 27
12:15pm
Small Auditorium
Risa Wechsler
Tiny galaxies and the Small-Scale Structure of Dark Matter
Blackboard Lunch Seminar, All welcome.
Tue, Feb 28
12.30pm
Small Seminar
Stacy McGaugh
TBD
Brown Bag Lunch Talks
Wed, Feb 29
11.00
Founders Room
McGaugh&Gnedin
TBD
Coffee Talk Discussion
Thu, Mar 01
03.30pm
small auditorium
Marusa Bradac
The world's largest optical telescope and the universe's
largest cosmic telescopes team up to study the first galaxies
Seminar
Thu, Mar 01
11.00
Founders Room
Carlos Vera
Issues on the "too big too fail" problem. (working title)
Coffee Talk Discussion
Fri, Mar 02
11.00
Founders Room
Oleg Gnedin
Issues on the mass of the MW (working title)
Coffee Talk Discussion


Week 4
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 5
11.00
Founders Room
Simona Vegetti
Issues in detecting substructures with lensing
Coffee Talk Discussion
Tues, Mar 6
12:30pm
Small Seminar
Marcelo Alvarez
Radiative Feedback on Low Mass Galaxies during Reionization
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Mar 7
11.00am
Founders Room
Stefania Salvadori
First Stars and First Galaxies

Thurs, Mar 8
11.00
Founders Room
Fassnact & Treu
Lensing time delays
Coffee Talk Discussion
Thur, Mar 8
3:30pm
small auditorium
Nitya Kallivayalil
The Magellanic Clouds and Stream: Galactic Accretion in Action
Seminar
Fri, Mar 09
12:30pm
Founders Room
Michele Trenti
First galaxies and reionization: what we observe versus what we simulate

Fri, Mar 09
all day

UCSB astroday
https://sites.google.com/site/5thsbameeting/schedule


Week 5
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 12
11.00
Founders Room
Owen Parry
TBD

Tue, Mar 13
12:30pm
Small Seminar Room
Marla Geha
The absence of quenched dwarf galaxies in the field.
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Mar 14
11.00am
Founders Room
Leon Koopmans
The theory and strength of flux and surface brightness anomalies to detect substructure

Thu, Mar 15
11.00am
Founders Room
Ben Mazin
Detector Technology
On popular request
Thu, Mar 15
3:30 pm
Small Auditorium
Allyson Brooks
Observable consequences of core creation in dwarfs
Seminar
Fri, Mar 16
11.00am
Founders Room
Mike Kuhlen
TBD


Week 6
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 19
11.00am
Founders Room

Cancelled because of BB lunch talk.

Tue, Mar 20
12.30pm
Small Seminar Room
Rachel Somerville
The dwarf conundrum: a bunch of linked problems with global properties of dwarf galaxies in LCDM models
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Mar 21
11:00am
Founders Room
Molly Peeples &
Andrea Ferrara
The Fundamental Metallicity Relation of galaxies
informal coffee discussion
Thu, Mar 22
11.00a.m
Founders Room
Mike Boylan-Kolchin
TBD
informal coffee discussion
Thu, Mar 22
03.30pm
Small Auditorium
Andy Bunker
The luminosity function at high redshift - do dwarfs do all the work?
Seminar
Fri, Mar 23
11.00am
Founders Room
Andrey Kravtsov
Neutral gas distribution in dwarf galaxies
informal coffee discussion


Week 7
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Mar 26
11.00am
Founders Room
Tom Abel, Andrey Kravtsov
Annika Peter
Issues related to SIDM & WDM
informal coffee discussion
Tue, Mar 27
12.30pm
Small Auditorium
Massimo Ricotti
BHs
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Mar 28
11:00am
Founders Room
Continued from Mon. coffee
Issues related to SIDM & WDM
informal coffee discussion
Thu, Mar 29
11.00a.m
Founders Room
Open discussion

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Mar 29
03.30pm
Small Auditorium
Frank vd Bosch
Dark Halo Response and the Stellar IMF
Seminar
Fri, Mar 30
11.00am
Founders Room
Martin Haehnelt
TBD
informal coffee discussion


Week 8
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 2
11.00am
Founders Room


informal coffee discussion
Tue, Apr 3
11:00am
Founders Room
Andy Bunker
uncertainties in galaxies reionizing the universe
informal coffee discussion
Wed, Apr 4
11:00am
Founders Room
Michael Busha
statistics of satellites
informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 5
11.00a.m
Founders Room
informal discussion

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 6
03.30pm
Small Auditorium
Tom Theuns

Seminar
Fri, Apr 7
11.00am
Founders Room
informal discussion

informal coffee discussion

Week 9
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 9
11.00am
Founders Room
Michael Busha
mass estimates of the milky way
informal coffee discussion
Tue, Apr 10
12:30pm
Small Seminar Room
Andrey Kravtsov
abundance matching and dwarf galaxies
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Apr 11
11:00am
Founders Room
informal discussion

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 12
11.00a.m
Founders Room
Anna Nierenberg
evolution of satellites
informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 12
03.30pm
Small Auditorium
Tom Abel
Tracing the Dark Matter Sheet through phase space
Seminar
Fri, Apr 13
11.00am
Founders Room
Else Starkenberg

informal coffee discussion

Week 10
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 16
11.00am
Founders Room
Louie Strigari
LHC constraints on dark matter
informal coffee discussion
Tue, Apr 17
12:30pm
Small Seminar Room
Yu Lu
feedback in low mass galaxies
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Apr 18
11:00am
Founders Room
Michael Busha

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 19
11.00a.m
Founders Room
Peter Behroozi

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 19
03.30pm
Small Auditorium
Louie Strigari
Dark Matter Properties from the Faintest Galaxies
Seminar
Fri, Apr 20
11.00am
Founders Room
Peng Oh

informal coffee discussion

Week 11
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 23
11.00am
Founders Room
astro-ph discussion

informal coffee discussion
Tue, Apr 24
12:30pm
Small Seminar Room
Matt McQuinn

Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, Apr 25
11:00am
Founders Room
Noam Libeskind

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 26
11.00a.m
Founders Room
Neal Jackson

informal coffee discussion
Thu, Apr 27
03.30pm
Small Auditorium


Seminar
Fri, Apr 28
11.00am
Founders Room
Sherry Suyu

informal coffee discussion


Week 12
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Apr 30
11.00am
Founders Room
Tommaso Treu

informal coffee discussion
Tue, May 1
12:30pm
Small Seminar Room
Crystal Martin
Demographics of Gas Outflows and Inflows at z~1
Brown Bag Lunch Talk
Wed, May 2
11:00am
Founders Room


informal coffee discussion
Thu, May 3
11.00a.m
Founders Room


informal coffee discussion
Thu, May 3
03.30pm
Small Auditorium


Seminar
Fri, May 4
11.00am
Founders Room


informal coffee discussion
End of program!


*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room, FR=Founders' Room, PL=Porthole Lounge

(***) LCOGT, the Las Cumbres Global Telescope Network, is a facility located in Goleta, and affiliated with UCSB, working on the creation of a world wide telescope network.
Every month we host a Science Seminar, and in conjunction with the KITP conference we are proud to present our next seminar:

Prof. Beth Willman.
Title: "What is a Galaxy?"
Thursday February 23rd, 4pm

The Seminar will take place at the LCOGT headquarters, less than 2 miles from UCSB campus, and a round trip shuttle ride will be provided. We would also like to invite you to a small reception after the seminar, and a tour of our facilities. Detailed schedule, talk abstract and speaker's bio follow. For more information on our Seminar Series please visit

https://secure.lcogt.net/user/fbianco/dev/LCOGT_ScienceSeminarSeries/current.html

and for information on LCOGT

http://lcogt.net/


Schedule:
3:30 and 3:45: pick up @ KITP back entrance
4:00: Seminar: Prof. Beth Willman - "What is a galaxy?"
5:00: tour of the LCOGT facilities
5:30: beer and cheese reception @ LCOGT
6:00 and 6:15: ride back to KITP

Title: "what is a Galaxy?"

Abstract

In the past five years more than a dozen tiny, dwarf galaxies have been discovered around the Milky Way. Many of these discoveries are 100 times less luminous than any galaxy previously known and a million times less luminous than the Milky Way itself. These objects have made astronomers question the very meaning of the word "galaxy". The advent of wide field, digital sky surveys (in particular the Sloan Digital Sky Survey) facilitated these discoveries, and hint that "ultra-faint" galaxies like the recent discoveries might actually be the most numerous type of galaxies in the Universe. This talk will highlight:
i. how we can see galaxies that are effectively invisible in images on the sky,
ii. the brewing controversy on the definition of the term "galaxy", and
iii. new photometric and spectroscopic studies of and searches for ultra-faint Milky Way satellites.


Speaker's Bio:

Beth Willman, who received her B.A. in astrophysics at Columbia University and a Ph.D. in astronomy at the University of Washington, has been a James Arthur Fellow at the Center for Cosmology and Particle Physics, and a Clay Fellow at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. Beth's research focus is Near Field Cosmology. She specializes in searching for and studying the least luminous galaxies in the known Universe. The overarching theme of her research is to use comparisons between theory and observations of the local universe to learn about dark matter and galaxy formation. In particular, Beth investigates whether observations of the Milky Way and the ultra-faint galaxies orbiting it are consistent with the Cold Dark Matter model of the Universe

⬆TOP